Deposit love today. Withdraw love for eternity.

White Flower
White Flower (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

As I sat at my desk pondering about all the homework and work I still have to close-out on my task list, I found myself scrolling through Facebook – again.  This time I was scrolling through some picture albums on my friends list.  It was interesting to see how many of them have albums with the word family somewhere on their folder title.  I, too, had a folder titled with the word family somewhere in there.

I came across a photos of family albums with people visiting their loved ones at grave sites.  The one question that immediately ran through my thought was,

“Why do people give flowers to their loved ones that has passed on and no longer is with them physically? Did they give flowers to their loved ones while they were yet alive?”

I do know why.  There are many different scenarios as to why we human beings do what we do… such as give flowers to the dead.  I know that every family has its secrets.  But no matter what, love never dies; it’s a two-edged sword.  Even in the worse of relationships here on earth – love never fails when our maker say’s it’s time to go. For those who loved while still alive, the memories will forever be cherished.  For those who did not love while they were yet alive, the dying emotion of wanting to love and be loved will never fail them; even beyond the grave.

Many of us go to that special place whether it be a marked grave site at cemetery, a secret spot we’ve shared with our loved ones, or that unmarked grave that floats in our mental state-of-mind.  Some of us had beautiful relationships with our parents, spouses, children, family, friends and co-workers.  And some of us did not.

Going back to my earlier statement of how love never dies; it’s a two-edged sword. What I mean by this as I observed my friends’ photos of them at the cemetery and other places of remembrance while paying respect to their loved ones; I feel that we should give flowers to our loved ones who are still alive and well with us today.  And for those who has broken relationships whatever the reason – forgive and move on.

Our loved ones who are living will appreciate the gesture of receiving flowers now, while still alive and well.  Once they are gone physically from this earth – they’re gone.  Memories such as giving our loved ones flowers, hugs, a simple phone call to say, “Hi, how are you doing?” or even the gift to forgive those who has wronged us, will make a greater impression of love, while they are still alive.  Rather than live in regrets with thoughts of would’ve’s.

Don’t get me wrong.  Paying respect to our dead loved ones with  flowers at the grave, in the ocean, or at a make-shift shrine is perfectly fine.  I understand that.  I don’t oppose this, nor do I judge those that do.  What I’ve learned through the love of my Jesus Christ is to do it in the present-time.  That is why it’s called present – it’s a person’s way of presenting a gift in the present gesturing the human emotion of love.  And a way to say, “I love you.” Or, “Thank you.”

Let’s not wait until tomorrow.  For the word of God say’s in James 4:14 (NLT) How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone. 

2 thoughts on “Deposit love today. Withdraw love for eternity.

  1. I agree, we should honor the ones we love while they’re still here. It’s one of the recurring themes in what people need to learn. Appreciate what you have while you have it.

  2. I looooove love LOVE getting flowers from people, my daddy and boyfriend especially. But I definitely agree that we should honor people in the present. My church does these love language quizzes every so often and I found out my love language is gifts, so the way I show love is by giving gifts, which is probably why I love receiving flowers as well. Thanks for the encouraging reminder! 🙂

Leave a Reply

